top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Turner

Project Progress #13

Updated: Jun 22, 2020

FILM EDITING IS SOOOO MUCH FUN!!!! I LOVE THIS - MAYBE I SHOULD BE A FULL TIME VLOGGER??!?!? LoLoLoL joke. Anyways, here are some fun things I've learnt you can do on Premiere Pro from editing this video:


Film editing

  • Filters: There are a whole bunch of pre-made filters you can put on your video. I decided to only use the black & white filter for my film.

  • Colour editing: While I did use a good quality video camera to film the music video, there were a few clips that had average lighting. I edited these clips by using the colour editing tool where you could change all things like exposure, shadows, contrast, brightness, saturation, warmth, etc.

  • Cropping: While editing (particularly in the first 20secs) I had to constantly line up different shots to centre them. I achieved this by cropping them and having the centre point constant throughout all clips (E.G. in the first scene it was in the centre of the beach pathway). I also explored the Kens Burns cropping edit a lot, mainly when opening with a double shot of Jono (right side of screen) and Emily (left side of screen) in the chorus - fading into Emily on her own in the centre.

  • Stabilisation: This literally became my saving grace. As great a filmer Julia Lloyd was (honestly, such a babe), the videos were quite shake-y as she was free-hand filming. Using the stabilisation effect on almost every shot (except for the ones purposely shakey) made the music video much easier to watch.

  • Speed control: A lot of slo-mo was used throughout the video. The best part was you could edit how slow you wanted the clip to be, anywhere from 0 - 100%. This meant many times were gradual slo-mo and many where straight up slo-mo.

  • Transitions: I used the cross dissolve transition the most, to cross between new clips in the same scene, creating an easy fade in.

  • Cutting: Most cutting between clips was done in sync with the piano part - most obviously achieved in the intro and the bridge. This was heaps of fun hehe, and really uses the music video to BRING OUT the music.


Creative choices

  • B&W filter: I used this to represent the feeling of pain and hurt and destruction. Therefore, I used it in the first two chorus' and fading into the end of the bridge. I didn't choose to use it in the third chorus because by then, my character had chosen to move on and be freed from these feelings of hurt.

  • Shake-y clips: I used purposely shake-y clips for intense scenes to further dramatise the feelings of emotional exhaustion and feeling overwhelmed. These moments included puffing from both emotional and physical exhaustion in the chorus, drowning at the beach and exhausted on the sand.

  • Slo-mo: Much slo-mo was used to emphasise particular moments or to make moments look more natural. Slo-mo was used for emphasis when Jono reached out his hand and held mine in verse 1, when suffering physical/emotional exhaustion in the chorus' and when dropping flowers to the ground in the bridge. Natural looking slo-mo was used when Jono and Emily turned to look at each other in the pre-chorus and when running towards the camera in the chorus and drowning at the beach from the final chorus.

  • Cutting: Almost ALL cutting was used to emphasise the piano accompaniment. This is most obvious in the intro and in the bridge. Doing this took the music video from mediocre to AMAAAZZINNGG!!! (Seriously - I wish I had the old cuts to show you the comparison!)

  • Zooming: Swapping between shots of close zooms and far zooms were used to show the overall scene, and then the emotions written on my face. Therefore, helping tell the story and reveal the emotions of the song.

And soooo much more... but these are the main things! If I put everything in here you'd be reading this blog post 5eva!!! However much explanation of my creative choices was explained in previous blog posts - so you've also heard a lot of them :)




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page