top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Turner

Video + Sound attempts

SO... I was bored tonight and the usual bored and isolated Em just jams to enjoy and pass time. While playing 'Take A Bow' by Rhianna (what a #throwback) I was getting frustrated that I couldn't play the piano line as well as sing... so I had this genius thought,

"Hey, why don't I get out GarageBand and record the parts separately?" ~ Ems internal monologue

So I did! I borrowed my mums iPad (without asking, oops, she got in trouble) and recorded the parts separately. And then had another genius thought,

"I should film it too!" ~ Ems internal monologue

Film it, get some different angles, put the film and music together and create a whole professional music video! I had so much excitement and faith in my little abilities... but let me tell you... I definitely don't have a natural skill for this tech-y stuff hahaha.

This is what I came up with:


YEP! NOT THAT GREAT!! But here is what I learnt...


Record EVERY TAKE!

I'm not quite sure what happened... but it was just impoooooossible to sync the music with the film. That would probably be because :

1) I forgot to sing in the intro when I filmed lol.

2) I filmed after recording the music so I must've played at a different speed.

3) I legit forgot a chunk of the song when I was filming hahaha, that made it reaaal hard to sync.


If I had recorded every take, from the start, including filming the recording of music - it would have been much easier to edit and sync up. Also, if I were to film after recording again, I would have the recording in my ears through headphones to ensure I stay at the right speed (and remember all the sections lol).


Multicam filming

I wanted to at times, fade in and out between camera angles. I wanted a gradual fade, and I couldn't figure out how to do that! I was instead chunking less and less transparency. Still gotta figure this one out...


What I did well though, is I filmed every camera in portrait! Last time I filmed music, I filmed in both portrait and landscape mode and so it looked very messy when putting it all together. So this time I was conscious to film all in the same landscape.


Lighting

The lighting was average, and the aesthetic was weak. I should have done James' DIY lighting hack and cleaned up the area a bit lol.


Recording devices

I just used my apple earphones to record the sound HAHA! I might try and borrow my sisters sound recording devices next time to increase the sound quality!


Yeah...

I would have re-taken the film, but I was caught for using Mum's iPad by then and so I couldn't haha... fair enough. But I still wanted to create this video, so I made use with what I had!!!

I'll implement these ways of improvement next time, and I won't use my mums iPad either lol (hopefully my uni laptop comes soon!)

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page